The summer coat

Back in May, after getting the flu from biking on a chilly night, I decided I needed a summer coat. Unfortunately, I lost my sewing mojo over the summer, and so this coat wasn´t finished until last week. The idea of this coat is to have something to throw over thin summer dresses in those cold summer nights we have up here in May and June. After taking these photos, I discovered that the coat is wearable in October as well, although teamed with some layers underneath, hat, scarf and mittens! 🙂

My initial idea was to make it out of linen, or something neutral colored, but when I stumbled upon this fabric when I visited a friend in Paris in June, I was sold. The fabric, together with the style of coat is a wee bit over the top, and must be carefully teamed with other garments to not look crazy. We discussed this during SSS, you know, where do the line go between “retro vibe”, and “costumey”? I guess it´s all about accessorizing, and how a garment is worn, as well as that my own personal style limits are pushed further and further the older I get.:-) How do you resonate about incorporating vintage looks into everyday outfits?

Pattern size: 36-44

Pattern type: Raglan sleeve lined coat

Rating: Highly recommend

Pattern Description: Raglan sleeves, large Peter Pan collar and 7/8 sleeves. Fully lined and with welt pockets.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it Yup. Pretty much.

Were the instructions easy to follow? As per usual, I had my Vogue Sewing handbook at hand at all times when things got confusing in the pattern instructions, mainly for the welt pockets and the collar attachment.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I really love the simplicity of the pattern and the clean lines. I also adore the collar, and the sleeve length. What´s not to like?

The summer coat

 Pocket detail

Fabric Used: I used a cotton jacquard I got at Les Coupons de St. Pierre in Paris. The fabric is navy blue and silver, and is actually equally gorgeous on the wrong side of the fabric. I had some initial thoughts about leaving it sans lining, but then thought I would get more wear from it if I did line it. The lining fabric is a navy rayon lining.

The summer coat

 A close up of the fabric

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I did a FBA on the bust dart. Otherwise, the only design detail I changed was to not roll up the sleeves.

The summer coat

Out for a stroll in the Botanical Gardens.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? If I need this type of coat again, I will definitely pull out this pattern. The jacquard is rather stiff, but I imagine this coat getting a completely different look in a more flowy fabric. I can absolutely recommend this to others!

Conclusion:  A pretty, easy to make coat in an over-the-top fabric for those days when a little dressing up is in order!

The summer coatWow, so that collar really needs a better pressing! 🙂

 

18 Comments

  1. Tors on 27/10/2011 at 13:02

    Wow, that fabric is gorgeous! I don’t think it’s over the top at all, looks great on you!

  2. Alana on 27/10/2011 at 13:18

    Gorgeous, Solvi! I love the print and the length of the sleeves – very elegant!

  3. Andrea on 27/10/2011 at 14:19

    Solvi, this is beautiful. I love the silver and blue pattern and don’t think it’s too crazy at all. Then again, my style limits are definitely being pushed as I get older as well! In my opinion, this coat is absolutely fabulous.

  4. molly on 27/10/2011 at 15:00

    Great job, it looks perfect for your needs!

  5. Sarah on 27/10/2011 at 16:42

    It’s beautiful, Solvi! Well done!

  6. Ali on 27/10/2011 at 17:23

    Gorgeous! It’s got such a wonderful vintage vibe and what an incredible fabric. Indeed, I can see this being a great coat year-round (as you said, depending on layers!). And kudos to you for the welt pockets! I am losing steam on the blazer I’m working on which had welt pockets, and I just didn’t have the mojo to make them 🙁 Patch pockets to the rescue!

  7. Alexandra Mason on 27/10/2011 at 17:52

    I love your coat! The fabric is gorgeous.

  8. Sølvi on 27/10/2011 at 18:44

    Thanks everyone!
    @Ali: I know that the mojo´s gotta be on top for those welt pockets, they where what stood between me and a finished coat for months! And now I am facing the same issue with a winter coat I have cut out. Maybe patch pockets is a good way out if it, yes! 🙂

  9. Lisette on 27/10/2011 at 19:03

    Wow, great fabric! I really like the silhouette, sort of late 50s, early 60s. You need some long gloves with a cocktail ring to go with it!

    • Sølvi on 27/10/2011 at 20:17

      Lisette, you are so true! Brilliant idea! 🙂

  10. Rosy on 27/10/2011 at 23:36

    So wonderful!!! Your coat is fabulous, this fabric is so lovely… Great job!

  11. Debi on 27/10/2011 at 23:52

    I absolutely love this coat! The fabric is just divine and you look fabulous!

  12. Mary on 27/10/2011 at 23:57

    ohhhh, so nice! I love the fabric and think it is so elegant with your flats and slim pants.

  13. Alessa on 28/10/2011 at 12:05

    I love the coat! I really don’t think the fabric is over the top, but then again, I really like wearing the Desigual-inspired patchwork coat I got in Paris two years ago… 😉
    I know what you mean about pushing style limits. When I went to high school, I would only ever wear jeans and pullovers… age, moving to Berlin and starting sewing my own clothes have really pushed my style to another level. During summer school in a little university town in west Germany somebody asked where I was from and when I said “Berlin” they answered “oh I should have guessed that – you totally dress like I imagine people in Berlin do…” *lol*

    @Ali: At least you two actually make structured garments! I think the most complicated garment I’ve ever made may be the Crepe dress… 😉 Actually, the infamous, WIP-for-a-year linen pants would be it. Button holes. *g*

    • Sølvi on 28/10/2011 at 19:11

      Oh, I love Desigual on others, but I never seem to find something that´s got my name on it. It´s such a unique and cool brand, I think! 🙂 Starting to sew almost everything I wear has been a great style enhancer for me too, all of a sudden I can wear whatever I imagine!

  14. Sigrid on 28/10/2011 at 17:06

    I love this style coat and it looks stunning in that fabric.

  15. Robyn on 29/10/2011 at 00:32

    It’s a beautiful coat and the fabric is wonderful. The line drawing of the pattern didn’t realy inspire me but I love your version. May be I need to go back over some of my Burda magazines.

  16. Scruffybadger on 31/10/2011 at 09:27

    Well fab! Great that it’s got a longer seasonal life than you originally expected too. It’s funny what you say about pushing style boundaries as you get older. I’d agree with you there, although perhaps when in my late teens I was a bit in my own style groove… Congrats on getting the pockets- totally worth it. It looks like a coat from a posh boutique

Leave a Comment





This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.